Does Pound Land Makeup Actually Work?

Whilst browsing Pound Land for some snacks to sneak in to the cinema – I know, I live life on the edge! – I decided to pick up some items from Pound Lands own makeup brand called ‘Makeup Gallery’ which was released back in 2014. I hadn’t tried any items from this collection before because I was really skeptic of wether it could be any good because everything is soo cheap!

Gorgeous Flawless Long Lasting Foundation, £1

I tried the foundation in the shade Ivory 1 which I think is the palest but it was still a bit dark and even a bit orangey at first glance for my super pale skin. However, it blended really well (I used  makeup sponge), wasn’t patchy at all and didn’t appear orange when it was blended in to my skin which was a relief. Also, the coverage was good and it contains vitamin E which is an antioxidant.

Feeling Blush Blusher, £1

This blush really impressed me! It has so much pigment and blends really nicely making it such a bargain for only £1! I got the shade Soft Blush 1 & I might pick up a few more shades because for £1 you can’t really go wrong.

Shine On Intense Colour & Shine Lip Gloss, £1

I really like these! The colour really is intense and bold; They are really glossy and moisturising which I think is nice for Summer. The only downside is that they are slightly tacky but not too much that I want to wipe it off. I bought two of these in the shade: Nice & Nude 1 and Pixie Pink 3.

img_3239
img_3237

Good To Glow Matte Bronzer, £1

I applied it to my eyelids as an eyeshadow and to parts of my face that the sun would naturally touch, like the forehead and bridge of my nose (I’ve never used bronzer before but I think that’s where your supposed to put it, correct me if I’m wrong haha) but it didn’t deliver much colour so it was a bit mehhh.

Smoothly Does It Pressed Powder, £1

This is a transparent powder for setting makeup and controlling shine. When it’s applied to the skin it goes on really smoothly but it doesn’t control shine at all so I won’t be using this again.

Plump Up The Volume Volumising Mascara, £1

I was quite surprised by the quality of this mascara considering it was just £1: It gives the eyelashes quite a natural covering as it’s not very bold but it does add a bit of volume and doesn’t clump unless you try to add a few layers.

Here’s a really bad quality photo of my eye so you can see what the mascara looks like on:

Items I would use/buy again:

  • foundation (but probably only when I have a tan or want to look like I have one as it was a bit dark)
  • Blush
  • Lip Gloss
  • Volumising Mascara

Items that are going in the bin:

  • Matte bronzer
  • Pressed Powder

 

Let me know in the comments if you have tried any of the items from Pound Lands makeup collection and what you thought of the items or if you want to try any of the items I mentioned in my post 🙂

Thanks for reading,

Kristy X

Instagram: kristyhart_x

Leave a Reply

