January Favourites

The first month of 2016 is almost over, it feels like it was Christmas yesterday, whattt!? Before I know it, I am going to be sitting my end of year 12 AS exams…okay, okay, lets not think about that! Here are the things I’ve been loving in January:


These Lottie London makeup brushes are so fricken soft! And the brushes are all in different pretty pastel colours. I had had my eyes on these bad boys for a few months and I’m glad I didn’t buy them until after Christmas because I managed to get them for half price. They were around £4 each which is a bargain!

FROSTED CRANBERRY. OH MY DAYS! This scent is mouth watering! I purchased the frosted cranberry lip balm from lush in December and once I tried I ended up ordering the soap and the hand cream in the frosted cranberry collection because it smells that good. I also bought some items from the other Christmas collections, but the frosted cranberry was by far my fave. My lips are constantly dry during the winter so I have been using this lip balm so much recently, and same goes for the hand cream.

Each night I put a thin layer of the Witch Overnight Clearing Serum on my face and let it soak in whilst I sleep. When I wake up, my skin feels really smooth and if I had any angry spots before hand, I found that my spots had calmed down by the morning

I received the Urban Decay De-slick Makeup Setting Spray for Christmas and I have used it every day since. This makeup setting spray controls oil and shine; although, my skin does become a bit early mid day but that’s because I have very oily skin, but I have noticed my skin becomes shiny a lot later on in the day that it was before using this spray.  I spray a thin layer on my face after applying my foundation to help it stay all day and prevent it from sliding as a result of my oily skin.

The foundation I have been using for months on end is the No7 Beautifully Matte in the shade Calico (Yes – I am that pale). I am on my third bottle of this stuff, and as you can see from the photo I have almost run out and will definitely be buying this trusty purchase again soon. The reason why I love this foundation is because it is perfect for my oily skin as it helps control shine and I love the way it looks on my skin. Also, it is really easy to apply using a beauty blender style sponge.

I only purchased the Clinique dramatically different  moisturizing gel recently but I love it already! It is specifically for combination oily to oily skin and is an oil-free formula. They do also have one for all you people with dry skin. I feel as though it is a really good size bottle and you only need a small amount (about pea sized) so spread all over your face morning and night and it gives your skin that burst of moisture that it needs to maintain a healthy glow – especially during the cold winter which can often lead to skin being dry.

Another thin I received for Christmas was the Thierry Mugler Alien Perfume which smells OUT OF THIS WORLD!! Get it??  I’m no good at describing scents so I got a quote from the product description: “A rich floral woody amber fragrance containing jasmine sambac, cashmeran wood and white amber”. If that means anything to you and helps you imagine the scent, then great, but I for one have no idea what cashmeran wood smells like?

Last but certainly not least, is….. THE WALKING DEAD! I only started watching this series in late December and omg I am obsessed. I watch it every night with out fail, and at weekends I sometimes find myself watching 4/5 episodes in a row. I know, it’s bad – I could be revising but it doesn’t happen that often, honestly… haha. But seriously, this show is addictive! I am already a third of the way through season 3. It’s up there with the Vampire Diaries in my opinion, which has been my favourite show for years – but I need to catch up on season 7, that’s my half term sorted! If you haven’t watched the Walking Dead please do, you are missing out!

So there you are, those are all of the things I couldn’t get enough of in January.

Let me know in the comments what you have been loving in January and how your 2016 is going so far! Also, if you are also a TVD or Walking Dead fan then let me know and we can fangirl together 😉

Kristy x

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Katie Goring says:

    I love TVD sooo much! And I really need to get back into The Walking Dead (I’m only on like Season 2 or something :/ ) x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kristyhart says:

      Sameeeee! It’s sooo good! I don’t understand when people say they don’t like it😰
      You can catch up on half term 😉X

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Raya Cordova says:

    I love all of these! ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

