DIY Motivational Pillow

It’s that time of the year where all I want to do all day everyday is sit in my bed, wrapped up in a cocoon of blankets binging on tv and Ferrero Rocher’s . However, I then end up feeling like crap and feeling annoyed with myself that I wasted an entire day doing absolutely nothing when I could of been doing something productive and self-rewarding.IMG_5812

To tackle this mind-set I took it upon myself to visit my good friend Google and searched for motivational quotes to encourage me to get off my backside and make the most of each day. I found an image of a pillow that had the quote: “Seize the day!” on it and I realised that that was exactly what I needed – something that would remind to ‘Seize the day’ me every time I went to sit on my bed.

I’m not sure how much that pillow was but I knowIMG_5818 for certain it would of been quite pricey. I love diy’s so I took a trip to one of my favourite stores – Ikea – and purchased a plain creamy coloured pillow case and a pillow to stuff inside. This cost me about £5. I then bought some gold metallic paint from Hobby Craft (suitable for painting on fabrics) for only a few pounds.

Using the image as a guide, I lightly sketched the quote on to the pillow case using a pencil (Make sure you don’t press the pencil too hard). Then, once I was happy with how it looked I placed some thin card inside the pillow case to ensure that the paint wouldn’t go through to the other side. I went over the pencil lines with the gold IMG_5812paint using a fine paintbrush and chose to paint some parts of the letters thinner/thicker than other parts to create the impression of calligraphy. Once I had gone over all the pencil lines I allowed it to dry for an hour or so; then I rubbed out the visible pencil lines and washed the pillow case.

Then once my pillow case had been washed and dried I placed the pillow inside and Ta-Da! I absolutely love love love my pillow because the quote is really motivational and the hand painted letters look really cute and in my opinion a lot nicer and cosier than the printed ones which can sometimes look quite tacky and cheap…

Talk to you soon,

Kristy x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. atkokosplace says:

    It’s wonderful! And the writing is perfect! What a great reminder too! Happy Fall, Koko:)

    Like

    1. kristyhart says:

      Thanks so much!
      Happy Fall 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie Goring says:

    This is so cute! I definitely need to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kristyhart says:

      Thanks so much Katie! If you do, I would love to know how it turns out😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

