DIY Desk Storage

Seeing as I am going back to school soon, just like many others, I have decided to give my desk a makeover to encourage me to work hard and hopefully lose my habit of leaving EVERYTHING until the last minute – I’m pretty sure most of you can relate! I will be doing a few posts on ways you can vamp up your work space and organise all of your bits & bobs. To begin with I have made a desk top organiser that stores my notebooks, calculators, pens etc. It looks super stylish and is practical at the same time…Win-Win!!IMG_5442


What You Will Need:

  • Box
  • Paper
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Cellotape
  • Pencil
  • Coloured pens/Decorations

Start off with a box of any shape or size; I decided to use a shoe box that I had lieing around. Then place a piece of paper on one of the sizes and then fold over the edges so that they fit tightly around the corners on either side (Picture 1.). Measure the height of the size and then draw the rectangle in the centre of the paper (Picture 2.). Next, trim down the rectangles on either side of the middle one and cut slits in each corner square (Picture 3.).

IMG_5429IMG_5430IMG_5432

Once you have done that, press the piece of paper back up against the side and fold the edges over so that they wrap about the side edges and in the inside and underneath of the box – Use pieces of cellotape to stick them tightly in place. Fold the corner squares so that two of them go under the box and the other two fold inside to give all of the edges a neat finish – Use cellotape to make them stay. Repeat on the opposite end (Picture 4.). Then follow the same method for the other two sides but this time dont make two fold on the sides for it to wrap around the corners – just cut out a rectangle that has a fold above and below to fold inside and underneath the box (Picture 5.). You can probably work out what you have to do next: Use Cellotape to stick the paper to each of the sides and fold in the edges and secure again. All of the sides should now be covered (Picture 6.).

IMG_5433

IMG_5434

IMG_5435

Now’s the fun part! Finally! You can decorate your box however you like – you can paint it colours to match your room or put stickers all over it; maybe even stick in pins so you can attach reminders; write on motivational quotes or do what I did – Squiggle!

My design was inspired by a company called ‘Sighh’ that I discovered on Instagram that make phone cases, notebooks & more – Check out their products because they are super cute! The IMG_5442particular design that I based mine on
was the Cross Stitch pattern they have on some of their products. I used a black sharpie to doodle on the design and I didn’t sketch it out first, I just did it free hand because with this design it doesn’t mat
ter if it’s not perfect.

Furthermore, I covered a smaller box (that was the packaging of ‘The Maze Runner’ book series) in white paper and placed it inside my shoe box to separate my notebooks.

Keep an eye out for more of my posts on how ways to organise and style your desk – follow me to receive notifications whenever I upload. Thank you.

Kristy Hart x

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh how adorable- and a moneysaver! Great job 🙂

    Like

    1. kristyhart says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

