Back To School: DIY Index/Revision Cards Box

This is my first blog post, so I would like to start off by saying…. WELCOME and thank you for dropping by and I hope you come back again soon!

I go back to school in about 2 weeks so it only seems fitting that my first post is a back to school one. I decided to combine my love of organisation and diy’s to create my own index card holder to keep all of my revision cards safely together and obviously I had to try to make it as cute as possible – it couldn’t just be a bland cardboard box, ugh. Therefore, I gathered some supplies from around my house and I didn’t need to go out and buy anything so this DIY is really inexpensive and will looks fabulous on your desk or in your school bag ready for you toIMG_5424 whip out when you want to study and test yourself. You could even personalise your box with a motivational  quote because lets face it: we all need a kick in the backside sometimes to encourage us to actually do revision (Well I know I do)


What You Will Need:

  1. Thin card piece of cardboard ( I used a cereal box which worked perfectly)
  2. Glue & Paint brush
  3. Scissors
  4. Pencil
  5. Ruler
  6. Decorative paper (I used some scrap wallpaper but you could use wrapping paper etc. or even washi tape)
  7. Optional: Piece of paper of your choice

Step 1.IMG_5398

Cover one side of your thin card with glue and then stick a sheet of your decorative paper on top

IMG_5399

Step 2.IMG_5400

Measure you index cards and then after adding half a cm to each dimension, enter them in to the ‘Gift Box’ template using this link. Then once the template has been made, download it and print if off. If you don’t have access to a printer then draw out the template yourself using a ruler to get the correct dimensions and use the templateIMG_5409 you have downloaded as a guide.

Step 3.

Draw around the box template on the back of the thin cardboard. I used blue tack to prevent the template from sliding.

Optional: Repeat step 3 on a piece of paper of your choice (i used a plain white piece) to stick on the side of the cardboard that doesn’t have the decorative paper on; this means that the inside of the box will look more professional.

IMG_5410

Step 4.

Cut around the lines you have drawn on the cardboard and then sketch where the fold lines were meant to be and fold them to create the box shape.

Step 5.

Glue all of the folds apart from the lid and the dusters (for obvious reasons) and then press them in to the appropriate part of the box and leave to dry.

Step 6.

You can finish off your index card box by putting a thin bobble around it to secure it or you can decorate it with stickers or a label with your subject on. Basically, the rest is up to you! i hope you like this tutorial and try it out 🙂

IMG_5412IMG_5411

Kristy Hart x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. eleanorfield says:

    welcome to the blogosphere! I love your back to school series so far! it’d be great if we could support each other ☺️

    Like

    1. kristyhart says:

      Aw thank you soo much for your lovely comment! I think that’s a great idea☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elisa says:

    Hello your idea is great, I’ll try it soon. And I think I will stuck the scrapbooking paper after cutting the box and then cut the excess of sracpbooking paper with a cutter. Thanks for the idea, and sorry if my English is not perfect, as I’m a foreign speaker I surely make many mistakes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kristyhart says:

      Thank you so much! I hope it turns out well for you. You’re English is really good haha 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

